Settings Management

As a Bitwig newbie, I may be totally wrong, but here are my two cents.

This is about the settings functionality, audio settings to be precise. It seems to me they are globally defined and apply to all projects.

My request is to have an option to save settings per project (if you want to) or keep Bitwig the way it´s currently built.

One idea how this could be done is:

• Basic (manual settings management)
    Add a save/save as/load dialogue to the settings page, so we can at least switch different settings in a fast and convenient manner. Doing this via File Manager and renaming the settings file is not very conventient :slight_smile:

• Advanced (automatic per project settings management)
    Add an option to “save settings with project” (radio button, yes/no). NO means you stay with the global settings and don´t have to do anything to keep the current behaviiour. YES means the save/load dialog becomes available and you can assign the current or any saved settings.
    Maybe the settings page is not ideal, so place that option in the “File/Save” dialogue.

Reasoning:

1. I´m currently switching to Bitwig and need to try out a variety of settings, including interface selection, naming, etc. Since we can´t even change the order of channels, it´s impossible to insert a channel when needed, or define them by interface layout and the re-order them in a way that makes more sense in the workflow (maybe alphabetically, maybe by function (instruments, external effects)