External Audio Editor Support (Offline sample editing)

External Audio editor support like seen in other DAWS. I won’t switch from Ableton without External Audio Editor support. I use iZotope RX on most things that I want to sound really good, for extra polish. Mostly good for de-clicking and vocal treatment. Or sound design things.

What problem(s) would this feature resolve?

1. Use iZotope RX for cleaning up clicks / artifacts / or editing frequency based content in the spectrogram. (This won’t make sense unless you have RX probably)

2. Zero cross snapping slicing

3. Denoising, de-verbing, or using any other frequency based algorithm in RX.

How does this feature fit in Bitwig as a product?

Bitwig has good “regular” audio editing but not pro grade spectral clean up and manipulation found in RX. You can select frequency content using photoshop like tools and apply effects to just that content. I feel like I’m a salesman for RX but there are other uses for external audio editors to augment the abilities and shortcomings of bitwig.

Is there already an alternative way to achieve this on Bitwig?

Reveal the file in explorer right click it and edit? I’m not sure if this takes the sample offline though or if the whole project needs to be reloaded?

Could it be implemented using Bitwig components or APIs, without Bitwig team’s support?

No

Could it be provided by a VST or something else reasonably integrated with Bitwig?

No

Are there other products that offer this feature?

Ableton, FL studio, Reaper, literally almost everything else.

Relevant links (optional)

2 Likes

In case it helps, there was a recent comment from @Tj_Shredder in another discussion:

Well, that is independent of the editor you use. In your case I would first clean up the material in an editor and then move it into Bitwig, or use Bitwig as editor and use the plugin versions…