Idea for Better Multicore CPU Support

This is an idea for greatly improving the multicore CPU support of BitWig and other DAW’s. It is such a pity to have 4 CPU cores or more on modern computers and only be able to use 1 CPU core in audio processing, because the DAW is having trouble allocating the processing across multiple CPU cores. This problem is only going to get worse in the future, because CPU clock-speed will stagnate and CPU cores will increase.

I think I have a good solution for this problem. I am a computer scientist myself and I do sometimes work with parallel programming, but my field of expertise is quite different from how audio-processing is done, so it is possible I have misunderstood something.

The Problem

The BitWig user-guide doesn’t describe how multicore CPU allocation is done, and the GUI only shows the total CPU usage, not the allocation of tracks and plugins across the multiple CPU cores.

The Ableton manual has a short section describing how chained plugins (plugin A going into plugin B, going into plugin C, etc.) need to be placed on a single CPU core because the processing of one plugin depends on the output of the previous plugin.

I think BitWig does the same, because when I have e.g. a couple of CPU heavy plugins on FX Sends, and I send audio from all tracks to those FX Sends (e.g. a little reverb on all tracks), then BitWig shows nearly 100% CPU usage (and sometimes breaks up the audio when it exceeds 100% CPU usage), even though the Windows CPU monitor only shows e.g. 15-20% CPU usage. So I think BitWig has placed all processing on a single CPU core. I think the same happens when I have plugins on the master-bus.

I believe there is a clever way to distribute the computation to multiple CPU cores, even though the plugins depend on the output from previous plugins.

Example Scenario